Review: #Sensodyne Repair and Protect

My name is Amy… and I have sorta kinda done some damage to my teeth over the years. I’ve clenched and ground my teeth kinda a lot so I have to wear my mouth guard (which I swear I’m going to start wearing again, it’s just not my favourite thing and I admit that), I’ve had three gum grafts (yeah, that was fun…actually, my dentist for that rocked, the sensitivity of where they grafted from however…brutal for a few days) and I was born with no enamel.

I have to use sensitive toothpaste and I freely admit it has been Sensodyne that has been the most effective for me.

I was beyond fortunate enough recently to be invited to be a part of a panel that Sensodyne had put on with Dr. Frank Gonser and Dr. Len Litkowski of Glaxo Smith Kline, the makers of Sensodyne.

It was fascinating! Seriously, I was really into this as it affects me directly and here I was able to talk to the minds behind it. Very cool!Sensodyne Repair and Protect

Sensodyne Repair and Protect is brand-new and does two things: it helps relieve sensitivity (when you brush twice a day…and I do) and it now also actually helps to rebuild the tooth!

This is key for me since, as I mentioned above, I have kinda sorta done some damage…apparently when you stress yourself out for a decade or so it isn’t a good thing…and help is greatly welcome.

How does this work? It was all very cool actually and all came from studying bone re-growth and then translating that chemically over to teeth. Sounds complicated, and it is. Why you get sensitive teeth has to do with tiny little holes that on everyone’s teeth that are not supposed to be exposed being exposed and liquid going through them and it not feeling great. It was very technical, but go with it.

So what this does is when used, it creates a chemical reaction when the NovaMin ®  interacts with saliva and then releases calcium and phosphate particles (the building blocks of teeth) which form on the tooth surface and fill in the holes and really re-build things.

Is it permanent? No, if you stop using it, and you have no changed your habits, the new stuff will brush or grind off. However, if you keep using it, it constantly regenerates and keeps the process going.

And yes, it also does the regular stuff too like freshen breath (it is nice and fresh minty), protects against cavities, removes plaque and reduces tartar.

Obviously I was excited about this so I started using it THAT NIGHT when I got home. I had a dentist appointment coming up in 6 days so I thought I’d try and surprise my hygienist and have nicer teeth for her to work with. I did and she was. She even for the first time ever said my teeth were shining! And I’ve had no issues with sensitivity either.

Am I sold on this? Yes. This all goes along with my commitment to myself to get ME taken care of and my teeth have been a constant concern through the process. It is brand-new to stores and is just phasing in but I have seen it in a few ads so look for it and give it a try if you have anything close to my issues. Or ask questions and I’ll do my best to get answers for you.

One Response

  1. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write
    once more soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,830 other followers

