Helping to end Violence Against Women with Winners HomeSense & The Canadian Women’s Foundation

I make it a priority in my life to help others where I can and how I am able to.

Did you know that half of all women in Canada have experienced at least one incident of physical or sexual violence since the age of 16[1]? I didn’t know this and the stat worried me, really? In Canada? This is just unacceptable, plain and simple.

In its continuing efforts to end violence against women, the Canadian Women’s Foundation has paired up with Winners and HomeSense to create the Shop for Hope campaign that runs throughout April 12 to May 11.

This unique program donates net proceeds of specially marked Canadian Women’s Foundation products to help raise hope for women and their children across Canada who experience violence.

From pillows with inspirational quotes, to throws, candles and jewelry boxes, this exclusive line of products has something for everyone, with the added benefit of helping women in your community.

Some of the beautiful and empowering pieces can be seen below, and I must say, the teacups and the pillows are two of my faves already.

TJX PillowsTJX MugsTJX Towel

“WINNERS and HomeSense are committed to helping the Canadian Women’s Foundation raise hope and end violence against women. Together, along with other campaign partners, we are proud to have collectively raised more than $12 million over the past nine years to support women who have experienced abuse,” said Shannon Johnson, WINNERS HomeSense spokesperson. “Our carefully created beautiful Shop for Hope products inspire people to join this cause and help women in Canada who have experienced violence to rebuild their lives.”

In support of this wonderful initiative Nonmom is having a giveaway showcasing these beautiful pieces in the hopes that you too will help out, and enhance the beauty around you at the same time. You can win a gorgeous gift bag containing wearable swag to household décor and accents the approximate value is over $250! Enter by leaving a comment here or on the Facebook page. I will draw a winner on May 5th, open to Canadians only. :)

The Canadian Women’s Foundation is one of the ten largest women’s foundations in the world and helps to empower women and girls in Canada to move out of violence, out of poverty and into confidence.

[1]The Violence Against Women Survey, Statistics Canada, 1993. Although more up-to-date data would be preferable, no future Statistics Canada survey asked women about their life-time experience of violence. Available:http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p2SV.pl?Function=getSurvey&SDDS=3896&Item_Id=1712

20 Responses

  1. Thank you for posting this info! I’ve donated twice so far in-store to this cause…hope thousands more do too!

  2. A beautiful idea Amy, I’ll enter again. never hurts to keep putting your name in the hat :) Happy Spring. and let’s end the violence!

  3. Such an important topic and cause. Thanks Winner’s for shedding light on this topic that hits close to home for me. I am a thriver from dating violence in University.

  4. That’s great of Winners and Homesense to bring awareness to violence against women.

  5. I think this is a great partnership because this topic is so important and can be easily overlooked (aka “not in my neighbourhood”) while really it is everywhere! (Suzi)

  6. Women need to encourage one another and these pieces would do that very well!

  7. I manage a VAW shelter and I was thrilled to donate to the Canadian Women’s Foundation last time I was shopping at Winners. I LOVE those tea cups and would be absolutely thrilled to win! :)

  8. Amazing! I wasn’t aware that this was a thing!! I am going to winners/homesense ASAP to pickup those teacups!!

  9. an amazing cause, thank you for getting it out there.

  10. This is so wonderful! I definitelywant one of those beautiful mugs so will go shopping tomorrow. Women must support women.

  11. Thank you! This is a wonderful organization and I knew nothing about the Shop for hope program. I love the saying on the one pillow. “Keep some room in your heart for the unimaginable!”

  12. So great! I love this organization! Never heard of this before now!

  13. What a great initiative and gorgeous products! I am in love with the mugs!

    Jonnie

  14. What a great cause,,thanks for the info and giveaway!

  15. Thank you for written about the Canadian Women’s Foundation. What a great cause.

  16. It’s such a big deal. I’m glad that they’re raising awareness.

  17. I really love the inspirational quotes on the pillows. The cause to end violence against women is important and will benefit future generations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,834 other followers

