Olympic Fever

Yes, that must be what I have today and why I am at home. I woke up and just didn’t feel great, and it went downhill from there.

So here I am, at home, and darn it all, the men’s curling is starting in 32 minutes, not that I’m counting.

I will be honest again, I haven’t been an Olympic fan in years, but this year, the constant coverage and accessibility of the games is really bringing me in. I cannot tell you how much fun I have had on Twitter with the games. Last evening I had a meeting in the city and no wifi for my itouch so I was ‘Olympic-less’ for several hours which included the women’s hockey (we won) and the pairs final (we didn’t do as well). I admit, when I was taking the minutes I was wanting to be doodling the Olympic rings and wondering how the events were going without me cheering the athletes on.

When I got home the coverage was on to something else and I was mad-scrambling to catch up and twittered the question of just what was going on in the pairs. A random gal, who I am now following because she was so sweet, twittered back to me in less than 5 minutes with an update. Whew! Relief! And: the power of social media!

I have the free app from Bell on my itouch, I have the tv permanently (oh ok, for about 12 more days) on CTV and my twitter is very active, all in an effort to create an Olympic experience, from my home! Oh, and you can even get a ‘Twibbon’ on your profile pic on Twitter. How much fun is that?! And much cheaper than the HBC line of Olympic gear… and I really do like that quilted jacket they all wear for the medal ceremonies. So nice!

It sounds cheesy, but it’s true, these Olympics are really gaining steam with Canadians. And I have to think that a major chunk of that is the ease of access to information.

Enjoy everyone, curling is coming on … time to play co-skip with Martin!

GO CANADA!!!

Leave a Reply

