Spring is ‘springing’ and I’m taking advantage!

I admit it’s been a long and rough haul the past oh, 20 months with so many major changes that it kept my head spinning up til, well, now.

I went from 30 and single but in a long-term relationship and having a full-time job to now 32, married and trying to keep my head above water with freelancing and waiting for my hubby’s work to pick up too. This recession just plain wasn’t any fun at all.

I learned to live without a lot of stuff that I really did enjoy and honestly, it wasn’t THAT hard to give up most of it, with the exception of my satellite radio which I will fight tooth and nail to keep. We cut my cell package down, I traded in my car for a much more affordable and lower payment model that I admit freely, I love. We cook almost every meal now, we were take-out addicts, and we started to do more local things. I cut our grocery bill down in a BIG way, although the total every two weeks remains around the same, this is in total sans take-out. And I have discovered a love of coupon clipping, http://www.save.ca is excellent! And I gave up, for the most part, I do have weak moments, my craft shopping. It was time to use up supplies I had and so far, so good.

I take my lunch more often than not when out on site and have really started to pay attention to ingredients and where our food is coming from. A colleague who is a dietitian taught me to read food labels, and 10 years in the food business taught me which processors and farmers are the good ones. My neighbour who I take shopping with me gets a kick out watching me check the labels to see which farm the produce came from. If I know them, I buy from them. I know which equipment they run so I know how the food is produced. I’m careful!

So, with all of this in mind and the inspiration that is spring, I have decided to move forward aggressively in my freelancing. Now that the rest of my life seems to be in place (relatively speaking of course) and things are lined up so that I’ll have more time to dedicate to it over the coming months, I have decided to really spring into action. I bought my new domain yesterday, it will be announced soon, ordered my very first promo item, I am so excited, and have got the website coming, a couple of new clients and new projects.

I’ve had to try on several different hats over the past 20 months in order to finally find out what it is I do, and I still have a few different things going, but at least now I’m focused and ready to pounce. I find that my generation as a whole is not going to be able to just find that one job and stay there for 20 or 30 years. We have to do several things to make ends meet. Look at me, I tutor, I am a marketing go-to gal and I even make handmade crochet items! I take photos at events and product shots for a select few clients. I’m a fighter, I always have been, and I’ll make it, but it has been and continues to be a struggle.

I know I’m not the only one who has had to make changes to her lifestyle, and I know that there are a lot of people who are MUCH worse off, but to me, this was definitely hard, and definitely a test of character. I’m confident it’s going to be ok and I’m going to come out of this stronger. I want to succeed and will succeed in one way or another.

In the mean time, I’m getting my company going and working my butt off to make something of myself! Yay me!

2 Responses

  1. That’s amazing! I’m so happy for you.
    You’ve found it. Embrace it 🙂
    (and go see Martha!)

  2. I am a big label reader too, and also get a big kick out of buying directly from the farmer (there’s just something really cool about actually talking to the person who made your food.)

    Good luck with all of your business ventures!

Leave a Reply

