One Foot in Front of the Other

In an effort to keep this wonderful spring momentum going, I am reminded of that silly song from a childhood show: Put one foot in front of the other. Was it Sesame street? I can’t honestly remember, but it is amazing what things stick in your head isn’t it? Well, I am putting one foot in front every day lately. I even started going for walks with my neighbour last week! Talk about being literal!

Last week was a chaotic one with two newsletters due, both are in the final stages now, and a quick refresh of a website which involved re-learning how to code in HTML and WYSIWYG, I am now reminded of why that site needs to move to Joomla or Drupal and why I leave coding to the experts. I am a content person, coding and me are not the best of friends LOL. I had to re-focus and determine the tasks that had to be done and in what order, and you know what, it all got done!

I even got some work done on my newest venture, my crocheting crafts. I am all about having multiple projects on the go at the same time and for some reason over the weekend I was really able to sit down and focus more intently and do my work quicker. I am so impressed!

A couple of weeks ago at my networking group our education piece was on time-blocking, something I haven’t really put a priority on in years, but I really need to do, and I did it and it works. Why I haven’t been doing it is beyond me, but I am now sitting down and blocking off times for my different tasks. Even if i do it mentally, mostly I do it in my daytimer (yes I am a pen and paper gal for some stuff), I am going to set aside that time at the beginning of the week to plan my time so that I get more ‘me’ time and can accomplish more in less time.

Frustration is reigning with a lot of my friends and colleagues still, and I find that for me, especially when I am having a down day, and I do get them, this time-blocking will help cheer me up with the fun new projects and how to put the pieces of the weekly puzzle that is a schedule into place. You just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other, even if it’s slowly, just keep going!

One Response

  1. Or in the words of Dory the fish “just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” That’s the one that floats through my head. I love time blocking too (in theory, anyway) especially when numerous projects are on the go. The trick for me is sticking to what I planned! Can’t wait to see your new crocheting!

Leave a Reply

