The Importance of Voting

Today is the big municipal election day all over Ontario and I for one can hardly wait to get to the polls and cast my vote to make my town better!

As a youth my parents explained to my sister and I how important and wonderful this priviledge is to be able to select the person(s) we want to represent us in our towns, cities, etc. I never forgot that and was very very excited the first time I got to vote when I was old enough.

A dear friend and colleague and I were talking about the election last week and she was telling me how in her family they were always involved with the candidates and the campaigns from her childhood to the present and her involving her sons in it too. I was so impressed!

With that in mind, I encourage everyone who is eligible to go out and make your voice heard today! You may think the municipal elections are only minor but they are so not. These people make the decisions that directly influence your homes, property taxes and education for your kids. Go out and make a difference! Make your voice heard!

Leave a Reply

