Girls Night In for Breast Cancer!

Girls Night In

Pretty in Pink for Breast Cancer

A little over a week ago I hostessed a Girls Night In for Breast Cancer at my place. The premise: to donate to breast cancer what you would have spent on a night out with the girls. The purpose: to have fun and support this worthy cause.

Having lost my ‘Other Mommy’ in August to this disease when I was approached to do this I jumped at it. I will also be making the donation in her memory.

We raised over $300 and the money is actually still coming in from those who couldn’t attend but still wanted to help.

Why my party was different? Because I was one of a select group of bloggers to be selected for a few bonus items to have at the party. We received a Pretty in Pink DVD (who doesn’t love a good Molly Ringwald movie?), a few bottles of OPI nail lacquer (pink of course!), some samples of Chloe fragrance and a bath cream from the same, pink popcorn from Kernels (sooooo yummy!) and some cupcakes from Toronto’s Dessert Lady!

Now, I have no doubt whatsoever that the cupcakes were gorgeous when they left the bakery, but the courier apparently decided they needed ‘modification’ so  when I saw this:

 

The Cupcake incident part one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I panicked a little bit. They were gorgeous originally, you can tell, look at those swirls, but unfortunately arrived as above. So, I whipped up some quickies of my own and thanks to my dietitian friend (who is a goddess in the kitchen!) and my new addiction: Kraft Whipped Peanut Butter (low-carb diet friendly), and some tinted buttercream icing, I managed this amazing frosting and I guess it was good as I couldn’t keep my mom out of it when she stopped by!

 

Kraft Whipped Peanut Butter Icing

Kraft Whipped Peanut Butter Icing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then I finished them off with a mix of these topped in the peanut butter frosting and of course some pink ones too!

Cupcakes

Cupcakes on Display

But it wasn’t an evening  just for cupcakes and peanut butter, I also have some big thank-you’s to go out for all of their wonderful help in putting the evening together. I know I had a great time and the chatting we all did was great! Never a dull moment and what a great mix of friends. I think and hope everyone had as wonderful a time as I did!

* Nikki Pett and Jennifer Martens at Sigma Promotions for the gorgeous gift bags with post-its & tea towels all in pink that went to my guests. Nikki and Jenn came through as always and are THE GALS you want to talk to for any and all promotional needs. Hearts of gold and the utmost professionals they are indeed!

* The Oakville Branch of the Canadian Cancer Society for the pink ribbons that also went in the gift bags as well as the Thingamaboob’s that everyone received. The were also so wonderful to supply some cute posters for the event and fun pink balloons that my cats are still chasing around the living room.

* All of my guests for coming and also for those who donated! Lisa, Lyndsey, Lori, Brenda, Nan, Audrey, Kris, Julia, Shannon (& Cole), Mary Ellen and Harprit

* And of course OPI, Chloe, The Dessert Lady, Kernels and Matchstick for coordinating that!

 

Leave a Reply

