It’s Here!

The new year that is! How did you spend your new year’s eve? I hid out, honestly I did. After 2010 I felt like I should just lie low and let it pass so I did. I even had the house to myself for most of NYE and NYD, but I did not miss my cherished Rose Parade. My tradition is to make sure I get to watch it and I missed it a few times but not this time! And how beautiful the floats were again. Wow, hats off to the volunteers on that one!

New Year’s was always my favourite holiday growing up. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas, but there was something really wonderful about New Year’s in my family and I still miss how we used to celebrate it.

We would pack up the car on the 31st and head to Guelph to the Holiday Inn and meet our friends and their parents there too. We always had room 300, tradition, and we always had fun!

It started by going with our family friends that we had grown up with in our first house and their 3 sons. Oh my did us kids ever have fun! We would play elevator tag (yes, we were the kids you hated), mini-golf, swim and more. I don’t think we stopped moving actually. At midnight our parents would ‘sneak’ us in for the countdown and one or two dances and then we’d be off again running!

In fact, the very first year we went we attended the kids party that they put on and that was the first time I saw The Goonies!

After a few years our friends from boating started to come out and we again ‘terrorized’ the hotel. Our friend even brought along exploding golf balls to fool the partygoers….and they did, and it was a riot! Even the staff got used to us and had a laugh. We would even drop GI Joe’s on repelling lines over the front desk….ahhh memories!

Arriving on the 31st and playing til the wee hours of the morning was our way of sending out the year in style, and coming home the next day always felt like something had changed and the new year had started. It was a way to refresh ourselves before facing the challenges that a new year brings.

As we grew up we stopped going but ever since, the closer we get to midnight on the 31st, the more I can visualize being there, the sights, the sounds, the layout of the hotel and where best to hide in elevator tag….end of the hallway or under the stairs 😉

Happy New Year to all!

2 Responses

  1. Happy New Year! I’m very glad I stumbled onto your site. I’ve been trying to embrace my “non-momness” but it’s tough since 99% of my friends and family have kids. So I’m looking to the online community for support. 🙂 Do you have any suggestions for non-mom message boards or other cool blogs and websites?

    • I am a huge fan of Celebrity Baby Blog which is on People.com as well as the mommy groups like Yummy Mummy Club and Savvy Mom. Opti-Mom is also great!
      What exactly are you looking for and I’m happy to help! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by the blog and saying hi!

Leave a Reply

