The Importance of Friends & Being Me

In keeping with my resolution to be better in touch with family and friends this weekend I am going to visit my ‘little brother’ and his wife and I could not be more excited about it.

I realized that I have, through self-infliction, lost some of my independence. That has annoyed me. I used to go anywhere and everywhere myself and even overseas all by myself (although I did meet people there and sometimes went with one of my best friends), but still, I did it and I loved every minute of it.

As a result, I’m adding to my resolution list, I’m going to get some of that part of myself back. As I stated in a previous post, life is a gift, we’re only given one shot at it and I’m not going to waste it.

Spending more time with people I care about is so very important, but being ‘me’ is too.

Being a NonMom I know I have a bit more flexibility than those with munchkins, but I see that a lot of my friends, as much as they completely adore their little ones (and I adore them too), miss that ability to be spontaneous sometimes. I’ve tried over the past few years to help with that and make it so that they can have a break, but I’ve also been thinking that I need one too.

As you can tell I’ve been pondering a lot this week. Maybe it’s that ‘free-time’ sitting in traffic again ;). Maybe it’s an early case of the February blahs. I say I’m going to face it head on and run with it!

I encourage you all to try it too, and share how you break away from the tediums of everyday.

Happy Weekend!

*UPDATE: Due to weather and parents needing a ride to the airport my plans have been put on hold. But I will make my trip, it’ll just be at a later date. Until then, working and tidying it is!

Leave a Reply

