Auntie Time!

Wow! So the second of my friends who are all expecting this year has ‘popped’ as it were. She was booked in for today, but apparently Little Missy wanted to come out before the Stanley Cup final! Her daddy is already proud, welcome to the world little Melissa!!!  I get to ‘Auntie’ again and can hardly wait to see her and her big sister, my Bex! I adore her and I’m sure I will her sister as well.

Last weekend I got my ‘fix’ as it were with our niece visiting. I think she needed her ‘Uncle’ fix so I tried to let them have lots of time together and as you can see below, they were ‘in sync’ with their iphones/itouches. She has always adored her Uncle, or at least they’ve always had a great relationship, and she chats with both of us regularly on Facebook so I couldn’t resist taking this pic. Like Uncle, like Niece 😉

Hubby & Niece 'in sync'

I was worried a bit, I mean I adore my hubby’s niece, but she’s 15 now (I clearly remember when she was under 10) and was stressing over what to do with a 15 year old. We wound up having two movie nights, Gnomeo and Juliet was up first (our friend actually worked on the film) and she loved it as much as we did. Our second movie night selection, Transformers 2 and again, success. She got a whole day with my hubby where they were outside and was all smiles when she came back.

She even joined us in playing some of the new Cars 2 games that we got (review to come) and she and I were literally doubled over giggling when we tried out Operation with Mater and set off the buzzer. HILARIOUS!

I’m hoping next time to maybe take her shopping (NonMom is saving her pennies for next week’s property taxes at the moment) or meet her at the beach and have some fun. We had some nice Auntie moments where she shared her crush’s picture with me and again, we had some laughs over games and other silly stuff including getting the cats to warm up to a new face in the house. Since she left they’ve been upset, they felt they were just breaking her in.

Cousin Spot psyching our Niece out

Overall, a successful weekend, I hope she comes back again soon! Before I know it she’ll be graduated and off to post-secondary! Oh my!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

