Review: Cars2 Sorry Sliders

Cars2 Sorry Sliders HasbroBeing that I am a big racing fan, F1 is my fave, I am also a big fan of the Pixar movies Cars and now Cars2. So when I got the opportunity to try out the new games Hasbro based on the movie I jumped at the chance. Who doesn’t love Mater and McQueen? (Although I must admit the little crew guy from the first movie still makes me laugh when he was lightning fast doing his tire change for McQueen).

What I like about the game: It’s in the ‘Sorry’ franchise and I was a big fan Sorry as a kid. I still remember playing as a family and my dad saying ‘Sorrrr-eeeee’ to me and trying to beat my sister. This is an evolution of the game and incorporating the Cars2 characters was done well. I worry a lot with themed games that it takes away from the game itself but honestly, I’m pretty impressed and this game in particular lends itself naturally to the movie.

I love the obstacles and how the game is completely modifiable. This is a factor that makes a big difference with me. Too often kids, and yes sometimes our generation too, get bored with a game after a couple of plays, but with this one that doesn’t factor in. You can not only change up the actual track configuration from ovals to road courses and short to long, but you can also move around the oil slicks, pilons and bump barriers (aka tire walls). For a kid it really can be a new game every time and that’s important. I appreciate when a company or designer really puts their thinking cap on and makes the product ‘more’ than just what it is. The parents and non-parents also get more bang for their buck on something like this and the kids get to show their creative side with the tracks.

Cars2 Sorry Sliders

Different Track Ideas

What I didn’t like: Not much. There was a lot of assembly, but it’s only one time so it’s not too bad. I had a bit of trouble (and I am notorious for getting others to assemble stuff for me so keep that in mind) with the attachment of the track sides and I accidentally put the stickers on the wrong side of the barriers but that’s minor.

Overall, it’s a great game and I’m really impressed that the game and the movie could be blended so well.

So, Cars2 Sorry Sliders, you get my brand-new first time used Gold Star!

One Response

  1. This is great to know. My kids and I love Sorry, I too remember it from my childhood, and since we just saw Cars 2 this sounds like a fun family game! So glad I stoped by!!

    Kathy
    visiting from VoiceBoks!

Leave a Reply

