Review: Halloween Treat Without the Sweet Play-Doh!

Hasbro Halloween Play-DohThat’s right, my friends at Hasbro have done it again, and this time for another candy-centric holiday: Halloween!

When they sent me the info on this I thought GENIUS! The trick-or-treaters still get a treat, but it lasts a whole lot longer than a piece of candy… and there’s less bouncing off the walls too ;).

As a former trick-or-treater who admittedly still debates donning a mask to go out again and recapture my younger years, I love this idea. When the news keeps telling us that kids are having weight problems and more and more are heading down the diabetes path, why not supplement their treats with a Play-Doh surprise!

I’m not saying to take the candy out of Halloween, no, I’m a candy fan myself, Peanut Butter cups and caramels are still my faves, but instead of giving out 2 candy treats, why not give one of these plus one treat?

My other idea is for those that don’t necessarily hand out candy but still have VIM’s (Very Important Munchkins) in their lives or kids they won’t see on Halloween. Why not harness your inner Martha (can you tell I’m a huge Martha fan?) and make up a couple goodie bags with the Play-Doh and maybe a colouring page and some crayons or some other Halloween game or craft? Perhaps a small craft pumpkin that they can decorate?

For me, I’ll be handing out candy again this year, I LOVE Halloween, and I’m definitely including these in my treat bowl too. I know the kids, and their parents, will definitely appreciate it!

Happy Haunting!!!!

 

4 Responses

  1. I love this! I wish I could find them out here – they would be a perfect “treat” for my students – definitely within the limits of our healthy food policy! 🙂

    • I’m sure you can get them in the Maritimes, Hmmm, Wal-Mart? A toy store? Let me know if you have trouble and I’ll find out for ya! 🙂

  2. Costco had a 80 piece bag – I got it for my niece’s birthday 🙂

    • Oooh! Good to know! I’ll have to ask nicely to someone with a membership (hint hint) and get a bag too!

Leave a Reply

