Reconnecting

In this day and age of Twitter, Facebook and email in general it’s hard to fathom losing touch with anyone but it does happen.

Yesterday I sent a random text to a friend who I haven’t actually seen in well over a year and lo and behold she wrote back and we had a 45 minute convo over SMS.

Without going into detail, she and I had been friends for a while, I loved hanging out with her and chatting. I adored her little one too, and now there’s a second! There was an issue with another individual and my solution was to just leave the entire situation which also meant losing touch with this friend which broke my heart. I still sent her a text on her birthday every year and I try to remember her first one’s birthday but it has been hard.

I am beyond glad I messaged today and got to chatting and updating, even if it was in short-form over SMS and we are going to meet up. She and I can both hardly wait!

I guess it’s something in the air now that we’re heading to the holiday season and all but it really is a good time to re-connect and enjoy friendships. They are so valuable and not to be taken for granted.

Who are you going to reconnect with? Will you do it? Are you considering it? I would love to hear about your experiences too.

 

5 Responses

  1. Good for you! As you know, I’m all about maintaining friendships and keeping in touch these days is so easy.

  2. You are so right. I just re-connected with my oldest friend (we’ve known each other since kindergarten) that I had lost touch with after I moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago. We just exchanged this morning over FB for 1/2 hour. The distance between MD and WI didn’t matter! I am grateful for this today. And for you and your blog, Ms. Non-Mom:)

  3. I recently reconnected with several friends that life had just gotten too busy to see, and am amazed at how much a text here and there brightens my day, and I know it does the same for them too.

  4. It’s always such a great feeling to reconnect with old friends. I love how we have so many ways to keep in touch with each other now.

  5. Through Facebook, I’ve been able to reconnect with lost old friends! I know that there are a lot of negative things that come with the internet, but reconnecting is a definite + for me!

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

