Review: Elefun Busy Ball Popper

Playskool ElefunContinuing in my Holiday 2011 reviews we have the Playskool Elefun Busy Ball Popper toy for 9 months and up.

It’s bright and it’s utterly adorable and my tester munchkin made a bee-line for it when I took it over to him. He is a fairly new walker, started in August, so he’s right in the right age group for this toy.

The popper comes with everything but batteries, so make sure you have those on-hand, it takes AA’s, when the little ones see this one!

As I’ve said time and again, I appreciate a toy that teaches something and is fun and lasts. This meets my criteria with flying colours.

What does it teach? Crawling and walking and fine motor skills. How? It depends on the age group. For the crawlers, or about to crawl crowd the balls are pushed out of the smiling elephant onto the floor so they are encouraged to crawl and retrieve them and then deposit them, with the help of mom and dad (or nonmom and nondad) so it can all go again. The popper itself is really neat and it’s all air that pushes the balls out of the elephant’s trunk. Honestly, it’s adorable, I was impressed when we got it going on the weekend. The balls even hover at the end of the trunk before they are pushed out for the little one to retrieve.

For the older kids, you rotate the elephant’s trunk and the balls shoot higher and further so they can run and get them. And it does result in squeals of laughter, and not just from the munchkin, the adults were having far too much fun with it too, I know, I was one of them. 😉

My tester was a little cautious at first because of the sound of the fan that controls the balls, but when we turned our backs for a moment he ran right over and started playing with it and then it was on for a while.

The fact that the toy evolves with the age of the child makes this a ‘buy’ for me. I am not a fan of toys that are limited in use, I want bang for my hard-earned dollars and this one succeeds in that department for sure.

The bright colours and friendly face of the elephant make it attractive and positive, again, all things that are important to me.

I’ve seen the Elefun Busy Ball Popper at Superstore, Toys R Us, Wal-Mart and more and it’s definitely worth checking out as a gift for the special munchkins in your life!

One Response

  1. I remember this….my girls had so much fun chasing the balls all over..they enjoyed this game/toy

Leave a Reply

