Holiday Countdown is on and I’m way behind

I guess in a way I’m lucky this year and there really shouldn’t be much pressure on me as my M-I-L is away and we had Christmas with my parents last weekend, but I don’t have my light display done yet (I keep changing the design and my Santa kinda won’t inflate anymore so I have to fix it all again), my cards aren’t done and I’m already over the deadline for getting the important one to my darling friends in Belfast and shopping? Yeah right! I have stuff picked out for NonDad but haven’t had time to actually physically get any of it yet.

I have bins and bins of decorations waiting to be brought out but simply have not had the time I need to do it properly. I feel a blitz coming on.

I’m normally much better organized than this and have been avoiding the season a bit so I don’t feel as guilty for not having things up and sparkling.

How do you manage to get it all done? Are you one of those lucky people who are done? Any tips you’d like to share, I’d love to hear them!

3 Responses

  1. I feel like I’m in the same boat – I’m just scrambling to stay on top of everything that needs to get done. I managed to order our cards, and am praying they get to use in time to actually send out. We put the tree up, but all the other decorations are still boxed up. I have a huge list of things I still have to buy and and even longer list of things to bake. And don’t even get me started on all the stuff I need to do so we can drive halfway across the country 3 days before Christmas.

    Haha, anyway, I feel your pain 🙂

  2. I know how you feel on this. I wish I was done with my Christmas to-do list. The ONLY thing I got out of the way are the holiday cards. Whew! But it’s the finishing of our gift shopping that I’m not looking forward to.

  3. I have a big list w/ all that stuff on it. I do one or two things towards the Christmas effort each day after reviewing the list for most important. I take all the way up to 12/24. I call it my “advent”. What gets done, gets done and I allow myself to be happy with the effort. I do a 12 days of Christmas starting on Dec 25 and give myself that time to just enjoy it. Then I move towards making it all go away-lol. I find I am able to enjoy each piece more at this pace, than if I did it all in one big crazy lump. Plus, I’m not killing everyone in my path:).

Leave a Reply

