Change is Good … and fun too!

I think it may have something to do with the fact that so far (knocking on wood, really hard) winter has pretty much passed me by so I don’t feel bogged down like a typical January (even though it’s my birthday month and I should celebrate all month long) and am beyond motivated and energized.

Of course that also could be partially due to the XL coffee I had this morning too.

The sunshine and not having to trudge through snow (which yes I know is inevitable) really does make a difference and as such I’ve been making changes around my house and in my life and I’m quite pleased with the progress.

Over the holidays we did some visiting at our friends homes and I admit it, I got house envy and every time I came home I looked at our place and the state of chaos it’s been in for longer than I’d like to admit and I got down about it. Finally, on New Year’s Day I grabbed my old decorating magazines and started ‘idea-ing’. My poor hubby lives in fear when this happens as it usually means he’ll have to step away from the gaming console… I know lots of you know all about that too… as I go on another rant. I have a lovely master bedroom and bath. To be honest, I hadn’t planned on moving from my happy little condo when my mom told me to go take a look at this townhouse but two things got me, french doors in the foyer and the master bedroom and its reading nook.  I am a book nut who unfortunately hasn’t had a lot of time to read in the past year but do love it. Having a little nook to myself, the one area my hubby’s ‘stuff’ isn’t allowed to be, is very important to me as is the bedroom being neat overall. I choose to ignore his side of the bed and the, let’s go with ‘pile’ as opposed to ‘mountain’ of clothes and magazines etc. that accumulate there.

Since I moved in in ’02 I have visualized a fireplace, an electric one, in the bedroom. Originally I wanted it in the bay window, but after some reflection and planning, it’ll go across from the bed and I purchased it last week. It arrives this week. An early birthday present to myself that I’ve saved up for for a loooooooooong time.

So things had to be moved and re-arranged and that’s what started all the changes that took place on the weekend.

I feel like a breath of fresh air has swept through the house. We re-arranged the dining room so that we could push the table back a little bit and the room looks bigger. We (me) swapped a few pictures around and mirrors to make room for the fireplace and again, freshen the place up.

I made a decision on a couple of pieces that are going to have to find a new home and found a new home for them to go to where I know they’ll be appreciated, and the living room looks bigger and so does the master bedroom.

And I have definitively decided on a colour for the master bathroom after all this time too.

Change is good.

I can see light at the end of this ‘refresh’ tunnel and that my house envy will disappear as soon as a couple more things are done.

Are you feeling energized and motivated too? What changes are you making?

2 Responses

  1. Yes! Change is SO good!

  2. Change is good! I just redid my laundry room…that was my last blog post..lol. I am trying to clear the clutter and make a better space for my fam 🙂 Love your blog, found you on the blog hop. I followed you on fb…stop on by if you get a chance! http://bbunchmama.blogspot.com/ -Kim

Leave a Reply

