Happy Birthday to Me!

Happy Birthday NonMom!Yes, this year I’m actually celebrating it, so HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

Turning 30 was hard, I don’t know why other than the cliches, but it was not a good one, 31 was better. Now that I’m , *gasp* 34, I think I’m in a much better place than at 30 and feeling better than I have in a loooooooong time!

My mom and dad love to tell me the story of how I was born and how pretty much after I arrived a mega-snowstorm hit and my dad couldn’t get to the hospital to visit my mom and I for close to three days. Today, it’s a balmy 1 C out and frankly, that’s BBQ weather compared to most January 25th’s. A few years ago I saw a stat that apparently January 25th is traditionally the coldest day of the year. If this is the coldest for this year, BRING IT! THIS I can handle! 🙂

I’m celebrating a couple things this day and year and I’m rather proud of them too:

1. I made my goal this morning of ’25’ by the ’25th’ according to my home scale. Yup, lighter than I was on my wedding day 3.5 years ago! I am beyond proud of myself so I’m wearing my spiffy little office dress outfit today and putting on my fave heels tonight! I’ll reach my overall goal (I’ll keep that number to myself) later in the year, but I’m feeling wonderful and positive! I’m even looking forward to using my Kohl’s gift card I got for Christmas in the coming days for some new outfits to show off in. It’s been a long time since I’ve showed off, I’m due! 🙂

2. I’m celebrating the fact that I’m not doing as bad as I worry about constantly. NonDad and I and the beloved furballs are AOK and moving forward. It feels good. That old addage about ‘putting one foot in front of the other’ is true. I’ve put my head down and pushed forward and worked my butt off and am still working my butt off. I know where I want to be and my careful planning is starting to pay off. Has it been a smooth path? No. Will it smooth out? I doubt it, that’s just not how things seem to go for me, and I’m ok with that! I know what I have to do and I CAN DO IT!

Do I have goals for this year, you bet! I want to get to my goal size, but before that, cause I need motivation after all, I want my Kate dress. If I can look good in that, I can keep going! I’d like to have to have it taken in. That would feel AWESOME! I also want to get the house in order and get some serious work done to it. I know I posted about that before, but I want to keep that going. I actually asked hubby for the master bath to get painted for my birthday. I’ve picked the colour, I just need to actually do it. I think that’ll be Feb 3-5th’s project!

I want to grow this blog and do more with it. I am beyond proud of it, and I think this year it can do even better! What improvements would you like to see? You’re the readers after all, your opinions and ideas are invaluable to me!

I also want to get my Etsy shop set up and functional. I need to set myself a date on that one. I love to crochet and people seem to like my stuff so I would like to give it a serious shot.

Am I the only one who sets goals on her birthday? What ones have you set for yourself? Are there any I should add to my list?

So instead of my Wordless Wednesday post that should be here, I’m celebrating my day (and also sharing it with Robbie Burns!) and wishing everyone a wonderful one too!

***UPDATE*** I’ve decided what I would LOVE LOVE LOVE for my birthday and I need your help blogosphere! It would beyond make my decade to get a tweet from Jeffrey Donovan (Michael Westen) of Burn Notice on USA Network (Showcase in Canada). Or Bruce Campbell, or Gabrielle Anwar (Wild Hearts Can’t be Broken is still one of my fave movies ever!). It is by far my favourite show on TV and ensemble cast too! Can you help? I will be eternally grateful I assure you! Hey, if you don’t put it out there, how can it know to happen right? 🙂 Wish me luck!!!

5 Responses

  1. Happy Bday!
    Congrats on 25 lbs. That’s amazing. You should come to my yoga class with me. (gives me an excuse to shop at lululemon!)
    I know you’ll reach all your goals.

    • Thanks!!!!!!! Hoping for 30 by Valentine’s Day 🙂 If I ever get a night off I’ll let you know 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! What a wonderfully positive post … and that kind of attitude can only lead to more good things!

  3. […] and who is Seth Peterson and why am I writing this? Well, it’s very simple and all started on my birthday the end of January when I decided on a whim to try to get a tweet from any of the stars on the […]

Leave a Reply

