Thankful Thursday

This week I am focusing on friends and how important they are to me and how thankful I am for each and every one of them.

I have a lot of people I am proud to call friend and while some come and go and some I only get to see once in a long time, they all mean something to me.

When they hurt, I hurt for them. That’s me. I just am that way. When they are happy and celebrating, I am happy and celebrate with and for them.

I have friends all over and some I haven’t even met face-to-face but that doesn’t change the fact that I call them friend.

Meeting a friend face-to-face after only knowing them online is really a treat too. This week I got to do that with my friend Seth Peterson as most will know if they follow me on twitter. Was I  nervous? You bet! How did it go? It was like I’d known him for years instead of a month-ish. We got along instantly and I am happy to say that the friendship only got stronger.

Events like that only reinforce my belief in friends and having them and helping each other to be better, stronger and grow.

With that in mind, technology, while some days it drives me up the wall, has indeed made making and keeping friends easier. I just got Skype on my netbook and I cannot tell you how great it has been to chat with my hubby and see my furballs while I’m away. I can BBM and text and email and Facebook and Tweet and stay connected with everyone all over and it really does make me smile to do so.

In school we got to see our friends daily, now, with all of these toys it’s like that again. And I am thankful for that.

What are you thankful for this week? What makes you smile?

3 Responses

  1. well, this may sound a bit like talking in code – but as discussed we need to go for lattes 🙂
    This week I’m grateful for my health. I’m grateful that I’ve spent numerous years understanding how to manage the tough stuff life throws at me, and have the ability to go for a run to let all of that tough stuff go.
    I’m grateful I discovered yoga a few months ago, and that I can go to a class, chill out and take a break from everything and then go back to reality hopefully calmer, happier and full of love.

  2. I am really thankful for keeping up with old friends and developing new friendships through technology as well.

    My two best friends moved away in the last couple of years. One moved just a couple of hours away. The other moved across the country. If it wasn’t for facebook, twitter and constant texting, we would miss out on so much of each other’s lives.

    You make me smile, Amy! I love your persistence and joyful heart. I love how you tackle a project with everything you have. You inspire me. I am so glad that we have connected!

  3. This is a wonderful post! I am so thankful for my two girls, I am so lucky to have them! I was afraid I would never had children and after years of trying I have two, Praise God! Coming to you from the April Blog Hop on Bloggy Moms! Please check out my blog Rural Mama’s Sandbox, http://ruralmamasandbox.blogspot.com

    Have a GREAT day!

Leave a Reply

