Nonmom Notes

After a wonderful week of trivia and fun last week, this week Nonmom returns to her regularly scheduled programs of posts, with of course, a few treats for you all as well!

So, here we go with the notes and updates for you all!

What I’m Proud Of

My ability to panic less the past week, sit down and make a plan and then move forward in a methodical manner. That may sound cryptic but instead of worrying like I usually do about some issues, I sat down, grabbed pen and paper (yes, I love my good old fashioned pen and paper sometimes LOL) and made a step-by-step plan. It really helped me to see the big picture and the timing of things and I was able to find a way out. It involved some finagling, but I am managing and things will be ok. I’m very proud of that.

What I’m Up To

As usual for me there is rarely a dull moment, lol. With that in mind, I have some fun stuff coming for you, my cherished readers and followers. I received the new Avengers movie toys  last week so look for that review to come, but so far, wow, there’s some neat stuff for the kids (big and small). I also have two book reviews coming, one for a pre-teen-ish book called Gasparilla’s Treasure and another for a series (I’m on book one right now) set in Ireland for the older ones that starts with Exit Unicorns. Both are fabulous so far and I keep going between them. I will also have a guest post here tomorrow from a colleague and friend on babywearing. Why is this relevant to us non-parents you ask? Because I for one was lost when I was handed one of those carriers to take my nephew out and this article will really help shed some light on them for you.

What’s On My Mind

The power of friendship and the desire to be a good person. This is really still at the forefront for me with the whirlwind that has been blowing the past couple of months. For a long time I have made it a priority in my life to make time to help others or causes where I can. Unfortunately I suffered a bit of burnout at one point so now I have to be a bit more realistic about how many hours are in the day, but what I can do, I will.

Why is this on my mind? Well, through #NateLuv I’ve met some simply amazing new friends who I know will be long-term friends. Skype-ing with Mamacravings Casi on the weekend was like talking to an old friend who I’ve known for decades instead of weeks. She is a gem and I adore her and her adorable little son, my ‘nephew’. Adore him!

I’ve also reconnected with old friends this past week. Very sadly a friend from high school’s younger brother passed away suddenly just over a week ago. My heart broke for my friend and also for our mutual friends who I know are practically family too. I promised I would go and see him at the visitation and give him the biggest hug and I did. It was a small thing for sure, but I hope it helped a little. It’s sad that events like funerals are where we reconnect but I like to think of it as a special gift from the person we’ve lost that we regain. My best girlfriends from high school were of course there and we have vowed (and we will do it too) to get together more since we all live so close still. I also promised my friend who lost his brother that we will go for coffee in the next week or so. He’s going to need support and I am making him a priority.

I’ve also seen the power of friendship with another new friend, Courtney. She has quite simply been through the ringer and if I could wave a magic wand and make it all better I assure you I would. I make it a point to at least text her once a day to let her know that someone is thinking of her. These things are important. I know when I get a text from friends or an email or a random tweet I smile so why not pass that smile on? I know it can’t change everything, but a smile can help, and a hug, I’m a hugger. Even if it’s a ‘virtual’ hug, I send them, and I mean them too.

Fun Stuff

I do have some fun stuff that honestly is keeping me ‘up’ and energized at the moment. I’m choosing to focus on positives and these posts are great for that, I highly recommend them to everyone! 🙂

Number one, I got my PINK JEANS!!!!! I was all hyper about them because last week I saw a great pic of I think Gwen Stefani wearing a pair. I fell in love. I love pink and I love Tiffany blue. Since bold bright colours appear to be back ‘in’ this year I decided that since I’d be in the US on the weekend I’d search out a pair. I found some. At my beloved Kohl’s…and they were on sale…and I had a 20% off coupon…and a credit on my account. Tee hee! So since my fave tank tops were also on sale, and I saved so much, I grabbed three of them too.

And something that is a new thing for me I assure you.

I am actually finding for the first time in at least 6 years (ugh, I cannot believe it’s been that long), that picking out clothes is fun instead of an activity to be dreaded. Please don’t think I’m bragging, I’m not I assure you. I actually tried on an outfit last week and looked in the mirror and did a double-take before blushing profusely. Yes that actually was me in that reflection. Wow, my hard work is paying off and I am even more motivated to get the rest off now. I used to dread the mirror, now I’m loving it. I was even laughingly driving my hubby crazy last night when I was trying to get a cute pic of the jeans. Too much fun was had!

So what has everyone been up to this past week? My goodness it’s May tomorrow, spring is flying by! What are you looking forward to?

4 Responses

  1. Oooh! I love a good pen and paper…especially if the pen is purple and the paper is in a gorgeous notebook. It makes my teacher heart sing.

    I am so proud of you for working through and making a plan. It’s amazing how a plan can calm our minds (especially if the plan in in purple ;))

    I absolutely cherish our friendship! 🙂 Like you said, it’s amazing that we have only known each other for a few weeks. While on Skype with you this weekend, my husband was teasing me because we had talked for so long. But when we are both such fabulous conversationalists and have incredibly important things to discuss (such as Ketchup flavored Lays), then it is necessary! 😉

    You are so beautiful! I am so proud of the healthy journey you are taking. I CANNOT wait to see you in those pink jeans!! SO flipping cute!

    for May: I am looking forward to spending many afternoons in the park with my baby boy. 🙂

    • It’s all about the Ketchup chips!! 😉 If I ever get to Texas I’ll be sure to bring a big bag with me 🙂
      Thank you for being such a wonderful friend 🙂 Hugs!

  2. Amy, your words about friendship are right on the mark. It is to be cherished and celebrated always … and so are your new pink jeans! Way to go!

    • Thanks Patricia! Like your bridge club, I have friendships that are long-lasting and meaningful, but I also have new ones that I know are going to be long-lasting too. Friends are so important to how we shape our lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

