Nonmom Notes

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had a lovely and relaxing weekend!

What I’m Proud Of

I got a TONNE of spring cleaning done on the weekend and the house is finally coming back to MY standards. My nickname isn’t ‘MiniMartha’ for no reason after all. 😉 I am so proud that I got the brick work out front neatened up so I can get the gravel topped up between the bricks. That’ll be this week’s project if the weather holds. And I got the weeds pulled that were of course growing in my flagstone out back. Have I mentioned that that flagstone is the bane of my existence? It is. For 10 years it has been a waking nightmare to deal with and just when I thought I had it licked (polymeric sand to the rescue) several thistles and some flippin’ chives were growing back there again! I have to wait for it to dry out a bit more out there but then I’m topping that up again and I will win the battle of the backyard!

What I’m Up To

Well, going along with the above, I’m in spring cleaning mode. BIG TIME. I even got hubby in on the action yesterday when he did a major sort and toss of clothes too. We now proudly have 3 garbage bags full of clothes etc to donate. I also got some marks on the wall in the dining room painted over. I’ve only been meaning to do that since I moved in….10 years ago. I know, I know, bad Amy, but now it’s done and it looks infinitely better. Hubby was a huge help since the paint bucket was well, ummm, jammed shut. I actually poured the leftover paint into a jar so I can get at it if I need it again.

I’m also in home improvement mode. Yes, hubby is living in fear. I don’t have the budget for the big changes I want, but I can do some small stuff like update light fixtures and mirrors and paint. I may concede and get someone to paint the living room for me though. I’ll see how ambitious I feel. But that’s not until June at least.

What’s On My Mind

Polyanna. Yes, that lovely movie that I adore and always makes me smile. More specifically though, Polyanna’s ‘Glad Game’. There really is a lot of ‘doom and gloom’ going around and I have personally made a choice to not go that way. I make a conscious effort every single day to find something positive and I cannot tell you the difference it has made in my life, my outlook, my friendships and relationships. A colleague has said on  several occasions that ‘you have to put it out there to the universe’ and I have been and it has been positive all around. I firmly believe that like attracts like and by being positive and upbeat (but I am aware that everyone is entitled to bad days, even me) you can and will attract more positive relationships. Good things will happen, but you have to put it out there. Try it! I did, and continue to. And hubby will attest that I’m smiling a whole lot more than I have in a long time 🙂

Fun Stuff

Well, after that last paragraph I’m not sure what else to write! Oooh! I have one! Who else is addicted to ‘Once Upon A Time‘? I know I am. I mean honestly, how divine is Prince Charming? Yummy! I missed one episode and unfortunately it’s not available online where I live at the moment but I  have seen every other (I think/hope) and it keeps taking my breath away with suspense! The creativity of this show is just great! So to me that’s fun!

How was your week? What are you glad about today? I’m glad I took a different route to work so I could still be on time today. A little thing, but still something to smile about 🙂

One Response

  1. Polyanna is only one of my favorite movies in the history of EVER! So much so, in fact, that I have turned the word “Polyanna” into a verb. For example, “Let’s try and Polyanna this situation.” It’s a lovely verb. I highly recommend it.

    Spring cleaning is on my list of necessaries for the next few weeks too. Summer is quickly approaching, so my world is full of reports, exams, grading and prepping students for wrapping up. I want to go into the summer months with a sparkly house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

