Book Review: Gasparilla’s Treasure by Scott Clements

Gasparilla's Treasure Scott ClementsRecently I was lucky enough to connect with a new author on twitter named Scott Clements who has written ‘Gasparilla’s Treasure‘, an adventure-treasure-hunt-esque novel for tweens (and I must admit, older than tweens as I literally couldn’t put it down myself).

For the Harry Potter fans who are without a current adventure to get behind, this novel definitely fits the bill. For the Indiana Jones and yes, dating myself here, Goonies fans too, this book will grab you and take you for a fun ride only lacking the ‘Truffle Shuffle’, but you can play ‘Goonies are Good Enough’ by Cyndi Lauper while you read and it totally works! 😉

The story centers around young Trip Montgomery who’s Grandfather, Pappy, tells him about a mysterious trunk in one oddly lucid moment at the retirement home which spurs Trip on to find out what this could all possible be about. He quickly enlists his friend Josh, the typical sidekick who is a champion video gamer, as well as his crush, a Hermione-esque gal, Sarah to help him figure out just what Pappy was talking about.

There’s even a great nemesis character, Eli, who every time he appeared on the pages I kept envisioning as Biff from Back to the Future. You quickly love to hate him and turn the pages hoping he’ll ‘get his’ in the end.

The chapters are relatively short and I really like that for kids because they get a great sense of accomplishment as they advance to the next one.  The characters are very real, you can picture what they are going through as Scott writes in a very visual way which might possibly be due to his vast experience in the entertainment industry *wink wink*. It really adds to the story and allows your imagination to conjure up great visuals! I love when kids’ imaginations get to work, it’s so important to cultivate and encourage that to me and I think a lot of parents would agree.

As a Nonmom I will be honest, I am very envious of my parent friends who get to have story time with their kids. I love love love reading with kids, hence my weekly reading buddy time (hands-down my favourite hour of every week), and try to take advantage of any opportunity to read books with them. I know that a lot of parents are looking for a book that fills a gap between interest to them and their munchkins, this will definitely fill that.

Available on Amazon in paperback as well as for the Kindle. It is also available on Createspace.com in paperback. Definitely worth checking out, I give it a Nonmom ‘two thumbs up’.

Scott Clements Gasparilla's TreasureScott Clements is a two time Emmy nominated sound mixer in the movie and television industry.  After writing various movie scripts and the popular textbook “Production Sound, A Beginner’s Guide to Equipment and Techniques”, Scott turned his attention to writing his favorite type of book, children’s fiction.  His first book, “Gasparilla’s Treasure” is an adaptation of one of his movie scripts.

Born in 1972, Scott grew up in Fort Walton Beach, Florida and currently lives in Orlando with his wife, son, dog, and three cats.  Writing mostly late at night when there are less distractions, he enjoys using his laptop computer so he can have his four legged family members by his side.

14 Responses

  1. It’s so exciting when a story connects with a reader! I’m glad you and my book got to meet.
    🙂

  2. I am so tickled that you and my book had a chance to met 🙂

  3. It seems like such a great book! I am sure this would be great for my junior high students! This is certainly on my Nook reading list. A few copies in print for our library is going to be a must as well. 🙂

    • I am thinking of putting an order form together for schools. If the school and students are interested in five or more total copies, I can have the books drop shipped to the school. Because of the savings in shipping and such, I can offer an education discount, and the books would be about $5 each, and that includes shipping.

      Also, I was thinking I could collect questions from the class and answer them via youtube.

      If this sound interesting, let me know and I’ll kick my rear in gear and figure or an exact price 🙂

      • That would be incredible, Scott! I am going to take this info to the 3 traditional schools I am connected to as well as the online school. What a great learning experience it would be.

    • I looked over the numbers, and it looks like I could do exactly as described for $5 per book as long as it’s 5 or more books. Should take less than 2 weeks for the books to arrive. That’s a nice savings over the $7.99 plus shipping, and well worth it to me, to get the book into the hands of kids!

      I’ll make an effort to post an order sheet on my website over the weekend: http://www.browndogsound.com/GasparillasTreasure.html

      You can also use that website to get in touch if you are interested 🙂

  4. […] with a few of his own treasures, like marbles, balls, slinky, etc… Check out fellow blogger NonMom’s review of Gasparilla’s Treasure and then build your own treasure chest!  We’re going to try […]

  5. […] make sure you check out NonMom’s review. She doesn’t have the entry on her review, but she was the one who made this whole giveaway […]

  6. […] Yup. This book has it all. I reviewed it earlier this year, interviewed Scott and have now teamed up with a couple other fantastically […]

  7. […] “I know that a lot of parents are looking for a book that fills a gap between interest to them and their munchkins, this will definitely fill that.” Check out the rest of NonMom’s review here: […]

  8. […] had the opportunity to review Scott’s debut book, Gasparilla’s Treasure earlier this year and just loved his writing style with that story so when this one came out I just […]

  9. […] Next, a blog review from NonMom: “For the Harry Potter fans who are without a current adventure to get behind, this novel definitely fits the bill. For the Indiana Jones and yes, dating myself here, Goonies fans too, this book will grab you and take you for a fun ride only lacking the ‘Truffle Shuffle’…” (more) […]

Leave a Reply

