Fun with JELL-O!

Sing it with me now: ‘J-E-L-L-O!’

Did you know that song came out in 1934?

Did you know that JELL-O was patented in 1845 and the first JELL-O recipe book was published in 1904?

How about that JELL-O now comes in various flavours and varieties including JELL-O Jelly Powders, JELL-O Mouse Temptations, JELL-O Refrigerated Puddings, JELL-O Instant Pudding, JELL-O Cooking Puddings, by JELL-O and many more!

I am all about saving time but not stinting on flavour or quality, and keeping on budget of course. The JELL-O line is so diverse you can use it for just about any occasion! Did you know you can bake with it? Here’s a delish cookie recipe that I have personally made and the cookies disappeared as soon as they were served.

JELL-O Cookies

Easy to make sugar cookies get a colourful twist thanks to Raspberry, Lime, Berry Blue and Tropical Twist Pineapple Orange JELL-O.

Makes 1 ½ dozen

Prep Time: 20 minutes, Cook Time: 6 minutes, Total time: 30 minutes

¾ cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar, divided

1 – 3oz packages JELL-O Jelly Powder (Raspberry, Lime, Berry Blue, and Tropical Twist Pineapple Orange)

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 ¼ cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

Optional: coloured sugar

Steps:

Preheat the oven to 400F. In a small mixing bowl combine the flour, baking powder and kosher salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl beat together the butter, ½ cup granulated sugar and your favourite JELL-O Jelly Powder flavour.

Beat in one egg at a time. Beat in vanilla. Add the flour to the large mixing bowl and mix completely.

Roll 2 tablespoons of dough into a ball. Roll through remaining granulated sugar. Arrange dough 2 inches apart on a parchment lined baking sheet.

Flatten slightly with the bottom of a glass. Sprinkle with coloured sugar if desired and press down lightly.

Bake for 6 minutes. Transfer the cookies to a rack to cool completely.

And there are more recipes too! Want to check them out? Come on over to my Facebook page, there are some really delectable ones!

To celebrate summer JELL-O are having some fun with ‘JELL-Oh Faces’, that face you make when you taste something utterly divine. You can also join the conversation on Twitter with the hashtag #JELLOhFace – don’t forget the “h”! And you can also participate in the fun by visiting Facebook.com/JELLOCanada and using the JELL-Oh Face app to share your photo and receive a product coupon.

The wonderful folks at JELL-O have agreed to sponsor a giveaway here on Nonmom and the two winners will receive a lovely gift basket each with some neat items like special spoons, mirrors to practice your ‘Oh’ face and of course, JELL-O!JELL-O

To enter, you have to live in Canada, sorry to my American friends, and leave a comment below telling me about your favourite JELL-O treat!

Check out the booth that was at Yonge & Dundas Square this week in TO, far too much fun was had for sure!

Happy Long-Weekend & Happy Commenting!

The contest opens now, winners will be notified my me. Contest closes July 8th, 2012 at midnight EST.

7 Responses

  1. What an awesome giveaway!!

    And the recipe will be a must try 🙂

  2. I remember as a kid growing up I loved the JELL-O Jigglers I used to make in different shapes, like moons and stars! Brings out the kid in me every time I have JELL-O!

  3. I have a picture for you Amy with quite the satisfied look on my face! LOL. I remember strawberry Jell-O and my mom making it for me when I felt sick or sad. She used cookie cutters to make pretty shapes and whatever they turned out like, I always cheered up and felt better. It’s amazing what you gravitate towards when you are an adult because Jell-O still makes me feel better! I think I should start the tradition with the boys. I’m sure they would love it. I also remember sneaking into the baking/treat cupboard and quietly opening a box of the powdered Jell-O and eating the powder. I never got caught and it was the most delicious treat and probably so because I was sneaking it!

  4. I really like “broken glass”, assorted jell-o flavours and whipped cream. My mom used to make it for me all the time when I was a kid!

  5. I like the JELL-O Jigglers especially strawberry flavour

  6. I love Jello chocolate pudding – the instant kind!

  7. Any of the red Jello’s are great.

Leave a Reply

