Back to School When You’re a Non

Pencils. Loose leaf paper. Binders. Highlighters. New shoes.

It’s been steadily building for a few weeks now. The traffic has been getting worse, the dew is back in the mornings and yes, I have even seen some coloured leaves on the ground.

Yup, it’s that time again, and even without kids, I am fully aware it’s back to school week.

I may not have kids, but I am still programmed that the first week of September is a ‘new’ time and start of things. A colleague once said that to me and it really is true. We start new projects both at work and at home and traditionally this time of year begins the harvest and working towards ‘that cold time’ after having a break and letting the crops grow.

I tend to set new goals at this time of year too. Last year I decided to drop the weight. This year I’m going to learn to keep it off. I’m also going to read more. I have always been a bookworm and I want to go back to that. I want to get through the books I bought this year for my e-reader and I want to spend less time with the tv on.

I also want to walk more. I love it, and since fall is my favourite time of year, I think that my walks will be even more enjoyable with the gorgeous reds, yellows and oranges to accompany me.

But there is one downside to the return of the school year. The drive. I’m already making my plan of attack to get to work on time. It’s all about strategy. 😉

Do you set goals and feel refreshed at this time of year too? What is your favourite/least favourite part of this time?

One Response

  1. I adore this time of year! As you said, it’s a fresh start. I organize with fall schedules and new school-year goals. Since I’m a teacher, my time is measured in “school years” 😉

    My favorite part of this time of year will be taking advantage of the cooler weather. There will be more park dates and long walks. It will be so nice to get outside without having to face triple digit heat!

Leave a Reply

