Challenging Myself to Succeed

Over almost the past year now I have been pushing myself to do more and to get my life back on track. Part of that, ok, a BIG part of that has been losing the weight.
I am very proud of myself and as of this writing I have 2.6lbs to go to my goal for a very near total of 65lbs GONE!
People ask me how I’ve done it and how I keep doing it and I tell them quite honestly what I do, which for me is Weight Watchers, but how I keep doing it is through motivation and a very stubborn mindset. Once I set my mind to something it’s very hard to change it (as my family will surely attest to).
What is my motivation? For me it’s every time I put something on that’s getting looser and looser. It’s going to my meetings and seeing how and what others are doing. And it’s my family and friends. When my amazingly awesome friend for example tells me how I’m doing and how she is looking to me, she probably doesn’t realize it but it pushes me more because I don’t want to let her down so I keep going.
I find that I have more energy and this energy has translated into taking on new challenges.
In May I did my very first 5k walk. I love to walk. It’s delightful. But I don’t stroll, I push. Again, I’m not just doing this for me, I want to make others proud too. And this makes me smile too.
A few weeks ago I was feeling very brave. I looked up events in my area and I found one in my town…this Sunday…and my friend and I both signed up for a 10K walk!
If you had told me at this time last year that I would be doing this I would have likely fallen over laughing. But I am. And I am going to keep pushing and challenging myself for further success too. The rewards are so great I just can’t seem to stop.
It doesn’t need to be weight loss or distance events that challenge you, but what does? How do you measure your success? How do you keep motivated?
I’ll make sure to update everyone after I finish on Sunday (or tweet during, I wouldn’t put that past me either). Wish me luck!

One Response

  1. Congratulations on all you have accomplished, Amy. You deserve to feel very proud!

Leave a Reply

