What I learned at #BloggyCon 2012

In 2011 I discovered BloggyMoms and then started seeing tweets about BloggyCon. I poked around, did my research and decided to take a leap and go for it. It was one of, if not THE best thing I could have ever done for my beloved blog. I made wonderful connections and learned so much…thank goodness I took lots of notes too. The approach was wonderful and never once did I feel like an outsider…and I was the lone Canuck there so you would have thought that might have happened. Not even a little bit.

When the sign-up came up for 2012 I was in, frankly I was reserving my place for 2012 while still at the 2011 conference ;).

This year once again did not disappoint.

It was great seeing bloggers I had met last year and remained in contact with via social media outlets and also to meet some new faces and forge new friendships. That’s what I love about BloggyCon, those relationships are so important. I know that I can tweet or message any of the gals I talked to there and get an honest opinion on anything. There are no cliques and everyone wants to learn and grow.

The sessions this year were fantastic again. I missed the first day but followed along via twitter so I didn’t miss too much.

The sessions included topics for all ranges of bloggers from newbies to pros and everyone was all about sharing. There was never a question that was laughed at or frowned upon. Everyone was visibly there to learn. Sessions included how to monetize your blog, YouTube 101, Working with Brands, Photography and your blog, writing with humour and more.
Honda, a returning sponsor even sponsored a coffee break complete with ice cream! What a wonderful treat that was. As Nonmom had arrived at 4:30am (long story) caffeine was essential on Friday.

What did I learn though?

Well, Nonmom is definitely on the right track, but I need to sit down and really put a proper plan together. I need to branch out into a few other areas, and perhaps look at self-hosting….which makes me nervous, but I think I can do it. After all, I have my BloggyCon friends to help and advise me right? 🙂

I also want to know more about what you my readers and followers would like to see here. Is there anything I can add/subtract do more of that you would like? And I have some ideas for teaming up with a few other blogger friends to bring you even more fun!

Blogging conferences can be intimidating, but not this one. My advice, pick one that you know some of the attendees at and see what they’re saying about it. See if there are any close to you. Check them out, do your research. Ask what people are getting out of them, that’s important. To me the comaraderie and education are equal. I don’t like going to things that are cliquey, I want open forums for communication and growth.

Kudos and biggest hugs to organizers Tiffany and Sherry. Ladies, you blew me away again. Thank you also to the wonderful sponsors of the event. Without you the event would not be what it was and I hope I got to talk to all of you but thank you again just the same.

Have you ever attended a blogging or social media conference? What was your favourite part?

7 Responses

  1. I want to be first on the list next year :))

    It sounds like an absolute blast and a wealth of knowledge!

  2. I went this year and it was so awesome that I’m jealous I wasn’t there last year as well!! 🙂 The first things I’ve been doing since I’ve been back is coming up with a little bit of a business plan – where I want to go and the steps to get there. You Tube being on the top of my list! 🙂 So nice meeting you! See you next year! 🙂

  3. You can DEFINITELY handle self-hosting! Since you are already on wordpress it’s easy to move your site and a breeze to use – and there are so many more plug-ins add-ons and other fun things you can do when you are self-hosted. Go for it!

  4. Hey Amy, with your talent and passion, there is nothing you cannot do. Love your desire to explore and grow. Keep it up girl. Your friends are very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

