I did it!

NonmomI did it! It took 365 days, that’s 52 whole weeks, but I did it: I reached my goal!
I am officially 66.5 lbs lighter than I was on this day last year.

Wow.
Can I just take a moment and let that sink in……again, wow.

I have literally more than halved my clothes size, and surprisingly my shoe size has dropped too…which I’m still getting used to…but that’s a great excuse to shoe shop so I’m happily taking that bonus.

I wish I could say it was all me, wouldn’t that rock? But I know that the support system, Team Amy as I will refer to them, were a very major part of it and all helped in their own way.

This blog is about the life and times of a Nonmom who absolutely adores kids, and seeks to educate and share fun and information, but I think this is absolutely worth celebrating.

So I am.

Last year I was at a point that a lot of women get to (moms and nonmoms both) where you realize that a change needs to be made and it’s time to make it.
My regular readers will know that I researched and decided that the best method for me was Weight Watchers. And did I ever make the right decision for me.
Team Amy formed immediately with myself, my neighbour who gently pushed me in the right direction, my amazing friend Laural who constantly inspires me and my darling husband who has been incredibly supportive and patient.

The journey had begun!

That very first night the meeting leader who was subbing for our regular gal told her story and how it took her a full year to lose to her goal and I took that to heart. She said it took a long time to put it on so it wasn’t going to just disappear overnight. She was right.

I followed the plan and I started to see results fairly quickly. I had lost enough by my next family gathering about 6 weeks in that it was noticeable to them so I took a deep breath and told my mom. Team Amy now had my mom on-board, she and my dad are huge supporters and cheerleaders of me and I love them to bits for it.

Then I ran into my friend from high school at a meeting who told me that I had to stick with the program and that it will work. Heather, you were so right.

The slow but relatively steady drop continued and my confidence rose as my clothes size dropped. I took on new challenges both physically and professionally.
I signed up for the Weight Watchers 5K walk and I did it in well under an hour. Then I reached the 50lb lost mark. It took a lot of work to get that 50 and I am still so proud.

As a treat I got to get those divine pictures done in the actual Issa dress that became famous when my fashion idol (love her!!!!) The Duchess of Cambridge wore it for her engagement to Prince William. Thank you again Jackie for the loan of the dress and Simar for taking the pictures!

Then I got ambitious and along with Jackie (and huge support from Laural, Coach Phil and my family) I signed up for the 10K walk portion of the Oakville Half Marathon. Jackie and I did it together and tied for 2nd in our age category too! Go us!

And then another major treat, appearing on the Steven and Chris show on CBC and receiving the gift of time with the wonderful Genny Iannucci and the divine Tara Williams who taught me so much about how to dress for this new me and how to play dress-up again. The time I got with them was priceless. Walking out on stage and then seeing it on tv and not being embarrassed, now THAT was special! Having both Steven and Chris (who are beyond sweet and adorable incidentally) congratulate and compliment me was a massive and cherished bonus on a dream come true day.

And now, after a little bit of a 2 week teaser, I finally saw the scale post and go a little further than my goal.

66.5 lbs gone.

Single-digit clothes.

Looking for mirrors instead of avoiding them.

This is the improved and as far as I’m concerned, enhanced, me. And I love me. For the first time, I actually really can say that.

It was and is absolutely worth it. I don’t miss anything or feel even remotely deprived.

I want to thank  some key members of Team Amy for helping me just being wonderful in general. If I miss anyone, you know you’ll get repeated emails and notes and calls to make up for it. This is me after all 😉

Hubby-kins for being so wonderful and accommodating
Lori for giving me that push to get started and continuing to check up on me
Mom & Dad for just being my uber-best cheerleaders
Laural for inspiring and encouraging me
Jackie for your enthusiasm, the divine dress and your cherished friendship and encouragement
Casi for being my Texas cheerleader
Coach Phil for all your great advice
Josko who I know loves his Wednesday am Shrinking Amy Reports 😉
Tracy for being another awesome cheerleader
Amy-Lynn for motivating and encouraging me to walk via the net and teaching me about Endomondo
Jane for always slipping an encouraging note in just at the right time

And last but in no way least: Cathy and her wonderful team as well as my fellow attendees at the meetings. You have made such an impact on me. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

And now to celebrate:
WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

19 Responses

  1. I am so proud of you!!! Just reading this post got me teary. So glad I was able to be even a small part of helping you achieve the healthier, happier you that you have been striving for. You deserve every bit of it. I think the hardest part is patience (and keeping those good habits going). You are such an amazing and inspiring person and I am so blessed to have gotten to know you via Twitter and fb. The web is such a powerful tool when used correctly. Now don’t forget to share those new shoe pics. 😉 Hugs and love my friend! I am so happy for you.

    • Awwww! Thank you so much!!! And thank you again so much for getting me going walking. I love it. And that app flippin’ rocks! 🙂 Shoe pics to come of course 😉

  2. Congratulations Amy, for your hard work and persistence. You look terrific! Warmly, Nan

  3. Congrats!! That is such an amazing feeling to reach your goal!! You look fantastic! I am almost to my year anniversary since I started losing weight and I am 23 pounds away from losing 100! =D It is such a great feeling to know you have completely changed your life!

  4. Congratulations, Amy! You are so right to be proud of yourself. Gee, I would not have thought you had 66.5 pounds to lose!

  5. Congratulations! You certainly deserve the celebration! 🙂

  6. Great work Amy. I saw your teaser tweet last night and you did not disappoint. Congrats on reaching such a big goal. A year is a long time, and you stuck with it! I think you should reward yourself with a trip to Saks, or maybe Tiffany’s 🙂

  7. I’m so proud of you!!! Shaking my pom-poms from Texas 😀

  8. Well done, Amy! Very impressive and you look fabulous!

  9. You look, beautiful. Go, lady, get it! 😉

  10. Nice job! You look mahveous!

  11. Wow, well done! You look great! I’m on a similar weight loss journey myself – although I’ve only just started

  12. Congratulations!!! You look great. My stepmom did very well on weight watchers as well. I think it’s a great program. And she’s still kept it off years later. Have a wonderful week! Stopping by from Triberr. 🙂

  13. congrats on your weight loss

  14. Hey! I don’t know how I just saw this!!!! I’m sooooo proud of you. You made the decision and went for it, and watched what you ate.
    I distinctly remember a conversation we had years about how some people are just always going to be chubby, and we were those people (do you remember that?)
    Now were are the people who decided we weren’t going to be chubby, and kicked some butt in the process.
    I love that when we need to borrow clothes we will be in the single digits,and I do believe we will need to schedule a lululemon shopping trip (we deserve it!!! Also we need sponsors for that, but whatevs).
    Congrats again!
    PS I’m doing a Whitby 10 Miler on November 18th. There’s a 10k there too. Want to come?

    • Thank you!!!! And yes I do remember that convo ;). But then I saw you last fall and you looked beyond awesome and I thought ‘well if Laural can do it, I can too!’ so I did.
      I’ve never shopped at lulu so I’m def up for going, the search for sponsors begins 😉
      BBM me details on the 18th, I might be in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

