Pre-Holiday Craziness

Time is flying. Will it ever slow down? I have my doubts. I look at my daytimer, yes I use a paper daytimer, the charge doesn’t run out and it doesn’t crash or need upgrades LOL, and I am realizing that I just keeping my head above water when it comes to getting everything done.

I do love the holidays, the music, the get-togethers, and yes the food too even though I have made my choice to not indulge as much as I used to. I love getting the mail and opening the Christmas cards up and putting them on display and though my husband lives in fear of my decorating (I may go SLIGHTLY overboard considering we have a townhouse and I tend to fill it) I like to think he does enjoy it a little bit and I know I do a whole lot.

But this year because we went away at the beginning of November I feel all behind and unorganized. Is it because the songs start on the radio so early and in the stores now that I am feeling this way? Typically the countdown starts for me on December 1st, and really, 24 days should be enough to get everything done, but why is it that it’s still November and I am feeling this way?

I still have to do my cards and letters, I have purchased a couple of gifts and I have a pretty good grasp on what events we have and when and where they are, yet this sense of rush and panic persists.

I know that some thrive on the craziness but I have literally been left breathless and flopped on the sofa some years and not enjoyed the holidays as much as I feel I should have based on the smiles of others.

What do you do to keep up? What expectations do you set for yourself? And how do you keep it all straight?

Leave a Reply

