Giving Back at Christmas

At this time of year we are all about giving, but what about ‘giving back’?
I admit freely that this year I had a lot of trouble getting into the spirit but then my husband called me at the office about a week ago and started sending me pictures of the kitties at the animal shelter he was at for a couple of days.
We are both animal lovers and this was actually the shelter we adopted (or rather they adopted us) our boys from so it holds a special status with us, Toronto Animal Services South.
The pictures kept coming and I so wanted to go play with them so when that night he told me he’d be back there one more day I immediately grabbed my yarn and started crocheting a couple of toys for him to take with him. I only had time for 3, but down they went the next day.
They were greatly appreciated. So hubby grabbed their shelter ‘wish list’ and brought it home. It’s on our fridge now so we remember.
I spent the next 3 days and nights, whenever I could sit still, crocheting more toys to take down, my mantra became: no kitty should be without a toy at Christmas. So I managed 16 more by the time we headed down on Sunday.
The gal my hubby had met that week was there again and she let us play with the cats and kittens and me hand out the toys. As you can see in the picture, Bob the cats liked his ;).
I felt awesome during and after. My heart broke at having to leave them all, we have two and three just isn’t possible, so I again took up my hook and have 10 done as of this post. Our plan is to go again ideally on the 24th and play ‘Santa Paws’ to them.
This is how I got into the Christmas mood. And we’re going to make this a regular thing now too. I am a Nonmom, but, to borrow a phrase from fellow cat lovers: Cats are children in fur coats. Dogs too. Etc.

P.S. While there we met an awesome 4 year old cat named Pork Chop. He needed a home. So I put his picture on my personal Facebook page, on the Nonmom page and my twitter in the hopes of someone seeing him and adopting him. I’d like to think it helped though I don’t actually know, but Pork Chop was in fact adopted this week! I am still ecstatic for him. Next up: Maggie! Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

4 Responses

  1. What a sweet idea. The photos and your gifts are adorable.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. This actually moved me to tears — I love our kitty baby & can’t imagine Christmas without her. You’re a great mommy & I know your babies appreciate you. You’re also a great person, & I wish I didn’t live so far away cuz I want to give you a giant “Thank you” hug for giving toys to all those needy kitties! xoxo

  3. Love this. Happy holidays to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

