A Little R&R… aka Girls Weekend!

I have so much to catch up on as I fell woefully behind this month. Again, chaos over the holidays is to blame.

So yes, the stress got to me and I needed a break. And that’s where my friends came in. It really didn’t take much convincing to get my friends Jackie and Laural to say yes to a getaway weekend in the US for some shopping and R&R.

Sadly Laural had to stay behind for work, but we’re going to make up for that in the coming months, so Jackie and I, being the troopers we are, made the trek to Buffalo!

I was in desperate need, and really I’m not exaggerating, of new clothes. So I went over to my Pinterest ‘Dream Wardrobe’ board and made a list…cause that’s what you do right? 😉 And so did Jackie. We were prepped and ready, two sophisticated awesome gals on a mission!

You would think the weekend would be all about shopping and helping out the economy (I try my best my American friends!) but we both just needed the break from the grind of our lives and we had so much fun along the way. Really, the purchases were secondary to having away time.

While she has two amazing kids (I ADORE THEM) and I have two amazing furballs, we both work hard, we both carry a lot of responsibility and taking a breather from that is essential every now and again in order to maintain our sanity. It doesn’t have to be a whole weekend away, lattes or coffee tide us over for the most part, but the opportunity presented itself and we took it!

So off we went and wow, first off, I had trouble keeping up with Jackie, LOL, and second, dang we got some good deals! I am now even more of a Target and Kohl’s shopper and am in love with the IZOD store too.

We laughed, we joked, we spent…but wisely and got the most bang for our bucks too.

By the end of Saturday neither of us had any energy left and even getting to the restaurant at the hotel was an effort and it was on the main floor LOL.

Sunday meant outlet mall time and I hadn’t been there in years. Jackie power-shopped, I tried my best and tried on a tonne of stuff in order to be able to scratch items off my list of  needs and I must say, I did rather well at that.

What did the end of the weekend bring?

1. Many items off of my checklist of what I needed including a treat of not one, not two, but three new colours of nail polish from OPI. Three for one? Yeah, like that was a hard decision 😉

2. A whole lot of fun with a dear friend

3. Most important of all: a chance to re-charge.

What do you do to re-charge? When do you know you’ve reached the point where it is 100% necessary to do so?

Leave a Reply

