Nonmom’s Me Time

Hi there!

I know, I’ve been MIA, but I have several good reasons that can be summarized as ‘I’ve been swamped’. And really, that is actually a good thing, it means I have a lot to do and I’m doing it and things are moving forward after that slump called the February blah’s.

I’m trying to get out walking more, which isn’t always possible,  but I try to fit them in when I can, and I’m working more…which I really love. I am the person who cannot sit still. Ask my husband. I literally feel guilty when I sit and take ‘me’ time. Ridiculous I know, but I do and that’s something I’m working on too.

I’ve also changed up  my ‘me’ time a bit. My time to myself for doing things I love is now being spent doing things. Like I mentioned above, I’m walking more (gotta train for the season!) and I’m also helping out at Sparks (the youngest tier in Girl Guides) and I cannot tell you how much I look forward to that time. The girls are wonderful and as I was a Brownie and Guide myself as a girl, when Jackie invited me out I jumped at the chance. I have not been disappointed.

How is this ‘me’ time? I think for me I have to change the definition a bit. My time for me doesn’t need to be just sitting like a lump (although that is required sometimes and I don’t knock it), rather it can be giving back to myself and others. Those things both make me feel better overall and really, isn’t that the point of it all?

To clear my head and relax my new favourite solution is to lace up, put on my fave playlist on my Blackberry and hit the pavement. ***Note: These are words that have never been associated with me before LOL*** and for those moments I freely admit I have where I wish I could partake in some of the fun stuff that my parent friends get to do, I now have Sparks and get to help give the girls an hour of fun and positive messages.

How do you spend your ‘me ‘ time?

One Response

  1. Like you, my me time changed. I find my me-time is at the gym or at yoga or, of course, running. I love sitting on my butt watching tv, but I don’t last long!

Leave a Reply

