Goals Set in Stone

I did it. The adrenaline was flowing as I watched the clock countdown to noon on June 11th…I signed up officially for the 2014 Disney Princess Half Marathon. I even printed off the payment info just to make sure it was real, and it is, I checked my VISA statement ;).

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned a few times, my friend actually did this race this year and I followed along on FB and cheered her on via her phone while she pushed and did it.

She hadn’t even reached 5k when I decided I was going to do this in 2014.

I opened up a separate savings account and started putting in extra money into it knowing that June 11th I would be signing up.

Finally the time came and I did it, I am now registered with my Cinderella bib choice for next February. I’m terrified and excited all at once. This is a HUGE challenge, but I am 75% confident (and rising) that I can do this. I plan to combo run/walk it and I think the time I submit will be from my 10K race at Barrie in the rain. I’ve got a few months to go, let’s see if we can drop that a bit more ;).

I also just this morning signed up with my teammate Jackie for our sort of ‘homecoming race’ in our hometown the end of September, the Oakville Half Marathon. Last year we did the 10K walk so this year we’re doing, yes, the Half Walk. Why the walk and not the run since I’ve been combo-ing lately? I want to do this as a walk and know that I can do it. I want to come full-circle on this event and keep to my favourite, which really is walking. I genuinely love it…and I do it quick too.  And I’m looking forward to it. I don’t want my first half-marathon to be a frustrating experience, I want to embrace it, and I really believe that by walking it I can do that.

I admit freely I also am paranoid and don’t want a negative experience on this as it’ll likely be the only half I do prior to Princess. I need it as a boost.

Setting these goals are keeping me motivated. I want this, and I will do it.

What goals have you set for yourself? Do you set goals?

Leave a Reply

