Fun at the Honda Indy Toronto — Nonmom Style!

A week and a bit ago (busy summer, sorry!) was my probably close to 15th now time at the Honda Indy Toronto. I started off by volunteering my time with my car club BARC in Pass Control back in the day, then became a corner Captain I think was my quasi-title, then moved up to Mock Grid and now I have the ‘cushy’ job, Worker Registration alongside a dear friend who ‘puts up with me’ for the event. It is far too much fun I assure you and while it is 3 VERY full days of running around (think 4:30am til 8pm or later for the duration), it is absolutely something I look forward to each and every year.

This year the event was absolutely fantastic and I had a blast. In recent years with the new structure the event has been going through an evolution and I must say, I saw the payoff this year.

Thunder Alley, which I never get a chance to go over and check out anymore, I did make it to and wow, I had so much fun! Poor Nondad had to accompany me and take my silly pictures, he deserves a medal I swear some days, but there really was something for everyone there from the munchkins to the tech fans.

I checked out the display for Turbo the racing snail. He and I got along famously as you can see, and also I found one of the Mascot Panda’s, Er-Shun, from the Toronto Zoo (more on that to come this week) to visit with. Then hubby found his ultimate stop at the race, yup, apparently nothing beats bacon ;).

Turbo the Racing SnailToronto Zoo PandaBacon Nation Honda Indy Toronto

The on-track action was fantastic too. There was a great variety of series that appealed to race fans of all genres. I was biased on the Pirelli World Challenge as we actually know and have raced with a few of the drivers, but the demo event of the Stadium Trucks took the cake. WOW!!!! Watching them literally ‘jump’ ramps on track was awesome and hilarious and oh so cool. I’ll post some pics of them on the Nonmom Facebook page for ya! But here’s a video clip of them to whet your appetite ;).

I got to tour around the track a bit more this year which was also a treat, and got some great views too. SUCH a treat!

IndyCar Start

It really was a festival atmosphere and reminiscent of the Indy’s of old for me. There was great racing, great fun and a great crowd too!

I did of course cheer on my hometown driver, James Hinchcliffe, despite the fact he went to my rival high school, however he didn’t have the best race, but I’m sure he’ll improve as the season goes on, he has had a couple wins already this year so let’s hope for more!

I was raised with a love for racing and while I also have volunteered for years in motorsports, this really is always a treat of an event.

P.S. The oatmeal cookies that us volunteers got in our lunches….DIVINE! My yearly treat!

Now the countdown to next year has begun…

One Response

  1. It sounds like an absolute blast! I adore the pics too 🙂 …also, now I want an oatmeal cookie.

Leave a Reply

