September Means Renewal To Me

Maybe it’s because September is the start of a new school year and that gets ingrained in us, but I am all about renewal at this time of year.

I got slightly off-course this summer (and I use that term loosely cause it was an odd one) and lost my motivation. I needed to find it again, and I did and I’ve been reaping the benefits since. It was hard, but I really had to take a step back, re-examine and realize where I was at and where I needed to be and figure out how to get back there.

So I did. I had put on 2 lbs (ok not huge, but the scale was definitely moving in the wrong direction for my sanity) and after that gain I freaked a little, put on my big-girl smile and went back to basics. I ate better, got back to my portion control and started moving again.

As my regular readers will know, I am now addicted to walking (and I’m adding a little bit of running in there too) and after a mega heat wave and a wacky schedule (to put that mildly too) I just stopped. And then I got antsy. It was weird, these are things I’ve never experienced before. So I started up again and wow, what a difference it makes. I got a new skirt for my walks/runs and yes it’s sad, but that really did perk me up.  And I added some new songs to my playlist…and in fact I made another playlist. It helps.

In the past week actually, I’ve found that I get positively nutty (ok, nuttier) if I can’t get out for a walk. Know what that means? My motivation is renewed. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How do you re-motivate yourself? Do you get stuck too? What does September mean to you?

 

Leave a Reply

