A Successful Race and a New Personal Best to Boot!

As some knew, last weekend I had a race, a 10k, and I was really really nervous about it.

I had trained well, but all at the last minute stuff went nuts on me.

I went for a practice run/walk (I’m now doing intervals) a week prior to the race on the actual route and while the time was good, I was not. A proper fuelling strategy was immediately needed. The good news: I had time to work on that.

The bad news: my shoes gave out. Yeah. One week prior to the race. Joy. And then, naturally, tracking them down was almost a crisis. Thank goodness The Running Room was able to find me a pair in my size (I was getting the identical shoes a second time) and my darling hubby was able to pick them up for me. Whew!

I managed to put two short runs on the new shoes to break them in and then race day was upon us.

I was careful with my food, prepped all my gear the night before and crossed my fingers and toes that the rain would stop.
My alarm went off promptly at 5:25am and I ate, geared up, kissed hubby goodbye (poor guy had to work) and headed out.

It was misting. I was NOT impressed. But thankfully it dried up before my running mate and I arrived.

We met up with the third of our intrepid trio of fabulousness and before we knew it we were off!

It was a great race! Nice and cool and I was glad we had done a practice along the route the week before so I knew when to speed up and when to hang back. It worked. I even had enough energy to pour it on at the end and beat that clock.

My time: 1:15:01. I took 68 seconds off my personal best with that. I am ecstatic.

This week I haven’t been able to get out with my nutty schedule, but I think I’m entitled to rest. Training for the Disney Princess Half starts asap.

Big hugs and thanks to my fellow nutty but fabulous gals Jackie and Laural as well as my mommy-kins for coming out and cheering me on. Also big thanks to Laural’s hubby for doling out the water en route. You rock. And to my wonderful Coach Jenn who there is no way I could have been as successful without. 🙂

Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

2 Responses

  1. Amy, that’s a huge accomplishment. Enjoy the rest. 🙂

  2. Congrats, Amy – well done! Warmly, Nan

Leave a Reply

