Guest Post: Wish I Was a Kid Again, the Toys Are Just So Fun!

Technology of today has put miniature computer systems in our pockets and thousands of songs within the palm of our hands. This is much different from when I was eight when a Walkman that held a cassette tape could fit 10 to 15 songs on each side, depending on the length of the tape. Cellular phones were the size of suitcases due to the batteries they needed in order to operate, and the computer aspect was that of our aging Commodore 64.

Toys are far different now than they were 30 years ago. While some of them seem ageless as with various building toys, many have grown and adapted to the wonderful world of technology. In three decades, action figures and dolls evolved to include tablet apps that directly interact with the toy. I love the idea of allowing children to use their imaginations instead of being digitally entertained, but some of the nuances of today are just too amazing to pass up.

Massive Multiplayer Online Gaming
When I was eight, multiplayer meant that everyone in the house sat around the table to play a board game. Although these are good memories and I wouldn’t trade them for anything, being able to play with my brother online in a game while he lives more than 200 miles away is just a small part of what technology has done for us today. I can see how family members could stay connected while playing their favorite online game while using voice chat. Some programs do such a good job processing voice while the game is playing that it sounds like my brother is actually sitting in my office next to me.

Controller-less Game Consoles
Thirty years ago, we had the eight-bit gaming systems and older Pong playing devices. Many an hour were spent stationary with a control stick in our hands as we mashed the orange button. Today, I can stand in front of my widescreen LCD and control every aspect of the game with my own body movement. Aside from this being one of the most grueling exercises if you play the game right, it is a great comfort to know that the children of society can get up off of the couch and keep active while engrossed in a video game. I’m a bit partial to Kung Fu style of games myself.

Remote Control
In the 1980s, my parents could only afford remote controlled cars that used a wire connecting the controller to the automobile. Wireless controlled toys were very expensive and a relatively new concept. Now, parents can pick up the radio controlled helicopter for $25 while controlling their own miniature air plane with a tablet through an app.

Building Sets
Choices were a bit slim in my childhood for building various objects. Now, there are so many mediums to choose from that a child could create just about anything. Some of these sets even include small motors and solar panels in order to promote renewable energy as a source of power for entertainment. The wind generator kits you can find online for kids are pretty fun looking. I’m tempted to buy one for myself.

There is just so much more that is available to children today than when I was young. Everything from mind-rotting video games to the creativity of building kits makes me almost wish I was growing up in this era instead. Alas, my time as a child is long over and all I can do is live vicariously through others; it’s just not as fun unless I get down and play with them.

— Allison Foster

Blogging for was a natural progression for Allison once she graduated from college, as it allowed her to combine her two passions: writing and children. She has enjoyed furthering her writing career with www.nannyclassifieds.com. She can be in touch through e-mail allisonDOTnannyclassifiedsATgmailDOTcom.

Leave a Reply

