A Need for Change, ‘Tis the Season!

I freely admit the seasons affect me.

For the past several months I have definitely not been entirely myself, but as the calendar gets us further into the year my body and mind definitely go into different modes. For example, right now, despite the weather (again my deepest sympathies to all Maritimers on the storm this week), I am in spring-mode. Ok, not the outdoor kind, it’s still too flipping cold, but the indoor cleaning and tidying and realizing I need to get some serious work done kind.

My problem  is that there are so many things that ‘need’ to be done I don’t know where to start. This happens every spring and I end up getting very frustrated and miffy, just ask my poor patient hubby, he’ll attest.

So this year I decided I’d be proactive and started making lists. Lists calm me and focus me. I love marking stuff as ‘done’, it’s so satisfying. 🙂 I started my list of to-do’s and then that expanded into a sub-list of ‘pre-to-do-to-do’s’, aka things that need to be done before the to-do list can even really start. Basically a lot of stuff needs to vacate my overstuffed tiny home in order for the changes such as the living room painting that DESPERATELY needs to be done can be done.

I have been in my home 12 years now. I am BEYOND tired of the colour of my living room. This is my yearly quest and unfortunately it isn’t as straightforward as it should be as there is some ‘wrinkling’ of the ceiling/tape/drywall stuff that needs to be fixed before the job can be done correctly. This is a problem I inherited and truly bothers me to no end.

I am also sick of tripping on things everywhere I go. I need more space. Period. So on the ‘pre’ list I went through most of the rooms and realized what big stuff can indeed leave. There’s a lot to be honest, but when it all goes the house will be all that much closer to being all it has the potential for.

I even treated my powder room to two new hand towels. Purple ones. This made me happy.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress. Cross your fingers!

Have you started your spring plans?

One Response

  1. Hello. I have also been cleaning and reorganizing my room. I hope you continue being positive about your organizing plans. Take care.

Leave a Reply

