Running for a cause

‎You may know by now that I took up running a little over a year ago now…well, maybe 18 months, but that’s beside the point, I took it up.

Running and I have had our issues, we had a big ‘tiff’ this summer (and I use that term loosely) and I only recently got back to it. But I am back, I just needed the right motivation.

I found it in a ‘Royal’ way and signed up for a race on my favourite city on earth, London, for Stroke Association. I’ve been training for weeks now and am very excited about it.

But last weekend I needed a warm-up, and a good one. I found the best of both world’s in the Terry Fox Run.

Fox is a true Canadian icon and these events mean so much to so many. I had wanted to do it last year but we were tied up, ‎so when I saw a tweet about it last Friday I signed up!

I infinitely prefer running for a cause to not. It inspires me and pushes me to do better, the races really truly mean something.

It was a perfect day out, there were lots of smiling faces and enthusiasm abounded.

We took off and Umm, whoopsie, I started a little too quick so by the middle I was definitely feeling my legs, but I pushed on, as Fox did, and made it to that finish line with one of my strongest times ever.

Charity runs, my ultimate motivator and a great way to give back :). What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

