Spring Cleaning your Palate with Becel

Spring and Cleaning usually mean vaccuuming, dusting, sorting and tossing right? Well, it’s also a great time to try out new recipes and foods. I have noticed a distinct change in my palate for sure and am back to my yummy salads and fresh veggies, and I’m all over trying out some new recipes to keep me on-track and healthy.

I run, though I still find the title of ‘runner’ hard to get my head around some days. In order to be successful in my time and distance goals I am learning more and more about eating right, but also enjoying my food and its fresh flavours.

My friends at Becel Canada have given me some great tips, and recipes to try out to help me and to share with all of you too! Check the Facebook page too for the recipes. Yumminess may ensue ;).

Good Fats

The unsaturated fats in Becel® margarine are good fats – which can also be found in avocados, nuts, seeds, vegetable oils and fish. Becel® margarine is a source of Omega-3 polyunsaturated fat. Replacing saturated fats with polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats from vegetable oils helps lower cholesterol.

Shake the Salt

As part of an overall healthy diet, nix that salt shaker. How, you ask?

  • Cook from scratch to control the amount of salt and sodium in your meals.
  • Experiment with salt-free seasonings. (Ginger, garlic, black pepper, lemon juice, herbs and spices are tastier anyway.)
  • Check Nutrition Facts tables on similar products and opt for the one with the lowest amount of sodium.

Get Your Vegetables On

Head to your nearest farmers’ market and load up on fresh veg!

  • Artichokes offer fibre and potassium, make for a great pizza topping, and always pair well with chicken.
  • Asparagus is jam-packed with nutrients including potassium, magnesium, selenium and iron. Roasted or steamed, it’s delicious in an omelet or a standalone side dish.
  • Kale is an excellent source of Vitamin C and is filled with beta carotene – both can help you maintain a healthy diet this spring.

Smart Snacking

It’s simple, really:

  1. Limit saturated fat and eliminate trans fat from your diet.
  2. Opt for fresh or frozen vegetables and fruit with no added salt, sugar or fats.
  3. Increase the amount of fibre in your diet — especially soluble fibre!

Happy Heart Healthy Spring Eating 🙂

Leave a Reply

