My Yearly Volunteering at the #IndyTO

‎I have been volunteering at the Toronto Indycar race since before I had my license and it is a tradition that I adore despite the occasional bumps.

I have worked (and yes, volunteering is indeed work, ask any of us about our feet after the event), on Pass Control (keeping spectators safe from hot cars, the Grid Crew and now worker registration. I have driven VIP’s in the parade as well as a driver and I even got to try flagging with the marshall’s last year.

It’s always the same, yet it has evolved over time. For our yearly three days of fun it always feels like a reunion to me, where despite the passing of time, the key faces remain.

I am an avid race fan. I grew up going to CTMP (formerly Mosport) and even met my darling hubby on the mock grid there one rather damp weekend.
When I started volunteering at this event, I became even more hooked on the sport and it’s a passion that continues.

Volunteering and racing go hand-in-hand. Without one, you can’t have the other. ‎I’ll never race a car, I don’t have the skills for that, but I can contribute to what I am passionate about in other ways, as volunteers do.

We may be a bit tired at the event later in the day, we start before the sun comes up in a lot of cases, but boy do we love what we do.

Did I mention we also get closer than anyone else too? 😉

Volunteering, a big part of my life, same with ‎racing. Love ’em :).

Leave a Reply

