Learning when to stop so as to avoid burnout

‎This weekend, after an admittedly rough week, I listened to my hubby (and my cats) and took a break.

I hadn’t slept well in over a week. My hubby had been ill and I had a hec‎tic week, well, more than hectic actually…and I ran out of adrenaline. Well, it certainly felt that way anyway.

I decided that after getting a few tasks out of the way on Saturday (after yet another bad sleep the night before) so I wouldn’t have any guilt, that it was time to sit.

Yes. Me. I sat still. It was epic.

I was even in my pj’s by 6:30 Saturday night.

I discovered the joy that is the history documentary. And lo and behold, suggestions kept popping up on the screen…well those had to be watched too, it would have been wrong not to ;).

And guess what? I actually slept Saturday night. My hubby woke up before me in the morning and let me sleep even longer.

Did I ever need that. And do I ever realize how important it is to charge your internal batteries.

I’ll be taking a page out of my cats’ books from now on…they’re the experts on relaxation after all 😉

Leave a Reply

