Reno’s for my sanity and the insanity they cause

Renos. Yup, we made the decision that since our home’s location is pretty much perfect we’re acknowledging that some updates need to happen.

‎This year, after staring at my too dark living room I finally snapped and it was painted. It took three days, but it was worth it, I cannot get over how a little paint can make such a BIG impact in a space.

That was phase one.

Phase two has been the kitchen. I loathed it. I’ve put up with it since 2002 and enough was enough. This project took a lot of research, tears, compromising and planning, but it’s finally coming together.

After my tears of realization of what a new (or even re-faced) kitchen was going to cost, hubby and ‎found a solution: new doors and hardware (we re-used our hinges) and a new hood.

After ordering the doors my sanity returned, then the insanity set in as I waited, and waited for them to arrive. They were a couple weeks late, but oh so worth it.

Then, the insanity kicked up again as adjustments had to be made on our present cupboards. Things were banged, tools were worn out, new ones were purchased. A process I thought would be quick is on week two now.

It has been a process, and it’s not over yet (4 handles to go and the hood!), but it’s close. And I’m calming and realizing that’s OK.

My sanity will return.

And then we’ll go to phase three…‎my poor husband ;).

Leave a Reply

